Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Houseplants: Is this from low humidity?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Houseplants
bookmark
Forum: Beginner HouseplantsReplies: 10, Views: 109
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
jewelsbyshari
Davenport, IA

January 22, 2012
3:09 PM

Post #8978001

I got several house plants from someone that wanted to get them out of his home. I'm a newbie to houseplants for the most part, though I have been aquiring as many as possible this winter season, trying to keep my normally deep winter depression at bay. It's been great having somethign like this to do, and the house looks great with all of the new life in it.

Anyway, this is one of the new plants I got from this person, it's about 6.5 ft tall. A Schefflera, I believe.

It's a pretty healthy looking plant, last night I washed all the dust of from the leaves with a wet rag.

There are two problems with it that I can see. One is that it has these large dark blotches, only on the uppermost leaves. Are they from low humity? Lack of light maybe?

Thumbnail by jewelsbyshari
Click the image for an enlarged view.

jewelsbyshari
Davenport, IA

January 22, 2012
3:11 PM

Post #8978005

The spots are kind of flexible on some leaves, and crispy on others.

The other problem that I can see with this plant is that there are a few stunted leaves, shown in the photo below.

I appreciate any and all help, I have been reading this forum for about a month, and really appreciate all of the information you all have shared.

-Shari

jewelsbyshari
Davenport, IA

January 22, 2012
3:17 PM

Post #8978015

I just wanted to add..