Cheat electricity in Texas

Wharton, TX(Zone 9a)

My electric bill was so high last month and I barely used it. No heating, no airconditioning and lights only in one room at a time. I really do watch my usage. My son looked at my bill and told me I was paying way too much and to change providers. I'm fairly new to Texas and think I had a choice but here you can do that. I was paying 14 cents per kwh. I switched to a provider that is 6.8 cents per kwh. A savings of more that half the price. Wow......

Northeast, AR(Zone 7a)

Way to go, Fancyflea! We have to save money where we can these days so we can afford fuel for our vehicles.

Wharton, TX(Zone 9a)

You bet. I just noticed my heading should have said cheap but cheat will do too.

Northeast, AR(Zone 7a)

Well, you know, I didn't notice that until just now. I guess I read what I thought you were saying instead of what you actually said. So see, we're on the same track. Oooooh, that could be scary!

Wharton, TX(Zone 9a)

Tee hee hee

springfield area, MO(Zone 5b)

you may also want to check out your appliances to make sure nothing is malfunctioning. We had a hot water heater once that went berserk and ran and ran and we didn't know it of course. but the bill was outrageous! I guess the timer? or the thermostat or something went bad in it.

Northeast, AR(Zone 7a)

Unplug anything you're not using--tv in the guest room, electric can open, blender, hair dryer, etc. Even though they're not on, they're still pulling electricity. Over time, that can add up.

Wharton, TX(Zone 9a)

Thanks butterfly, There are items I will be unplugging from now on. Every bit helps.

(Tammie) Odessa, TX(Zone 7b)