Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Article: The Beauty of Snags: Life from dead wood

Communities > Forums > Article: The Beauty of Snags
bookmark
Forum: Article: The Beauty of SnagsReplies: 8, Views: 56
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

February 5, 2012
8:30 AM

Post #8995428

Great article and rather original, I like it! As a certified tree surgeon I have for years sawed off dead limbs from trees as do most people in the trade but it has recently be pointed out that it was an ecological mistake as dead wood as you show is a source of life hence one link on the complex chain of life and should therefore be respected.

Cville_Gardener

Cville_Gardener
Middle TN
United States
(Zone 7a)

February 5, 2012
9:01 AM

Post #8995474

jjacques,
Nice to hear from your part of the world! Thank you for the kind words. "An ecological mistake" is a good way to put it. It took me awhile to learn that too. Now I wouldn't have it any other way.

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

February 5, 2012
7:38 PM

Post #8996108

I guess there is a lot to dig here, people probably dislike snags not just for aesthetical reasons but it certainly related too much to death to be comfortable sight! I used to work in a bonsai nursery many years ago and I learnt how to use dead branches or broken trunks in order to enhance the natural beauty of the tree...
plantaholic2
N Middlesex County, MA
(Zone 5a)

February 6, 2012
7:06 AM

Post #8996467