Photo by Melody

Beginner Flowers: New Girl Wants Friends (hopefully ones who enjoy swapping)

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 5, Views: 116
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Crysta_Belle
Indianapolis, IN
(Zone 5b)

February 5, 2012
4:21 PM

Post #8995882

Hi. I am new to dave's garden. I've spent some time looking over Dave's Garden the past few days, reading information on the site and asking very helpful administrator's questions. 

I must admit, most of my friends do not enjoy gardening, but I do. Every year, I buy or gather more seeds than I can use. Then I end up giving away my extras to people i'm not sure will even plant them.

So, i'm tired of wondering "Did those seeds I gave away ever get planted? (I know at least one would have came up out of 20 healthy seeds?!)  Maybe they're just gathering dust or in a trash heap somewhere? Perhaps sprinkled onto fresh soil to feed the birds? It's not a vent, just curiosity, and I wonder if anyone else feels the same way?

Well, there is something I have always wanted to do, successfully, and that is host a seed swap where I know my seeds will be pit to good use. 

I'm not currently working so I have the time to organize and host one, and it would give me an excellent opportunity to make new Dave's Garden friends who share the same appreciation for plants as I do. 

If I could get enough participants in a timely manner, I would like to host a small seed swap. My idea of small would be approximately 30 participants. I will be participating as well and I have enough of some seeds I could send 20 or 30 seeds per packet per participant. 

However, I do have a little different idea from the standard amounts for seed quantities per packet, depending upon the seed/plant and the amount the participant has. For Example;