Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
o_angi2001
Bentonville, AR

February 8, 2012
9:47 PM

Post #8999953

I am remodeling a trailer and have come up on a problem and I'm not sure the best way to repair it. The board that runs along the bottom of the wall of an exterior wall under a window is rotten. The leak has been repaired. Do I make a dummy wall of sorts so I can pull the bad wood out to replace it? I have the paneling and insulation out already. The studs are good and so are the floor joists. I will be replacing the subfloor. Here is a picture of the wall
o_angi2001
Bentonville, AR

February 8, 2012
9:52 PM

Post #8999956

Heres the wall

Thumbnail by o_angi2001
Click the image for an enlarged view.

o_angi2001
Bentonville, AR

February 8, 2012
9:55 PM

Post #8999957

Ok the last one was wrong pic. Sorry I'm not very good at posting pics yet

Thumbnail by o_angi2001
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Bubba_MoCity
Missouri City, TX

February 14, 2012
6:28 AM

Post #9006149

You say the studs are good, but it looks like mold or rot on the two supporting the window.

The plate that the studs stand on is what you want to replace?

To do that, you need to build a temporaty support wall to hold the weight of the ceiling and attached roof until you can replace the bottom plate and all the bad studs.

If that plate rests on a sub-floor and it is rotten, and that is what you wnat to replace,the job just got a lot bigger.

Sub floor replacement must match the original thickness, but pressure treated or other replacement material may be used. I have done partial sub floor replaecment, and plate & wall replacement, but not at the same time/building.

Dmail me if you want more assistance. I'm currently working on a house gutted to the studs and beyond in some places.
o_angi2001
Bentonville, AR

February 14, 2012
8:56 AM

Post #9006342