-
AuthorContent
guitardude

(Zone 8a)

February 11, 2012
12:32 PM

Post #9003043

Hi all,
I'm new to the Dave's Garden forums, but have been using the website for years. This is by far one of the best plant websites online. I purchased a young coffee plant at a local garden center late last spring. Over the summer it did very well in part shade, but it has since struggled greatly after being moved indoors to a bright, southern facing window to overwinter. Although there were four or five coffee plants, only one survives now. The upper leaves still look quite good as do the bottom ones, but the middle leaves begin bleaching-out around the edges, going from a dark green to light green to yellow then brown. The patches grow from the end toward the stem, becoming crunchy and brittle until the leaf is dropped. I have had this problem every time I have tried to grow coffee, yet many I've talked too insist it is very easy to grow. I suspect it could be low humidity (its current location is in a bathroom however) or overwatering. Any comments would be much appreciated. I have posed several pics. Thanks!

Thumbnail by guitardude   Thumbnail by guitardude   Thumbnail by guitardude
Click an image for an enlarged view.

tapla

tapla
Bay City, MI
(Zone 6a)

February 11, 2012
1:29 PM

Post #9003107

What are you using for soil? Is the soil usually still moist when you water? What have you done about fertilizing over the last several months - be specific? Is it situated so it gets direct sun where it's sited now? Has it ever been repotted (as opposed to potting up), and how tight are the roots?

Al
guitardude

(Zone 8a)

February 11, 2012
2:39 PM

Post #9003179