Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: Need some advice on container roses!

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 1, Views: 31
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
cynical_76
Whitmore Lake, MI
(Zone 5b)

February 20, 2012
10:25 AM

Post #9013388

Hi everyone
I've never done roses before but I have always wanted to. I am in zone 5B in Michigan. I must have them in containers because I rent this house. I would love some experienced gardeners to shout out some good roses to try, together with advice on when to plant them and put them outside. I'm a COMPLETE neophyte so please write as if it's "Roses for Dummies." Do they like to be started inside and then moved outside in a few weeks/months? Do I want seeds or cuttings or a big plant?

Thank you all for your (hopefully) kind assistance to a total newbie who is too shy to go ask at the greenhouse.
altagardener
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3b)

February 20, 2012
11:07 PM

Post #9014236