Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Cameras and Photography: Seeking camera advice

Communities > Forums > Cameras and Photography
bookmark
Forum: Cameras and PhotographyReplies: 22, Views: 196
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gen2026
Camden, AR

March 13, 2012
8:04 AM

Post #9040905

I am not a camera expert at all... more of a camera novice although I have been shooting pics for a long time. I am not good on the techical aspect and all the terminology. I HOPE to learn more in the next few years since my youngest is a senior in high school and I might actually have some free time to dedicate to hobbies next year as she heads off to college with her brother.

I have a D200 which my husband purchased me almost 5 yrs ago. I usually shoot sporting events using a Nikon 2.8 80-200 lens which is almost 10 yrs old. Last year it became apparent that ALL my photos which had been sharp and crisp were blurry... I tried every possible setting and still no luck. I finally sent the camera and lens off to Nikon last March. They did work on both and assured me they were being returned to "like new" factory settings...to the tune of 500+ dollars. Once football season started up again, it was clear the camera (or lens) was still not functioning properly. I am at a total loss as to what to do. Obviously, that 500+ bucks was wasted, now I don't know whether to just replace the lens (which I can't afford to do currently) or replace the camera as well, or change brands altogether and convert to Canon.