Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
newtonsthirdlaw
Arlington, TX

March 18, 2012
8:53 PM

Post #9048091

I have been trying to grow various plants from seed and I find I am not that good at it! I get a lot of germination but don't quite know how to get them beyond their infancy stage. I have these newly germinated Penstemon ambiguus seedlings. What do I need to do to them to get a few to survive. How much water? When do I transplant them. How long can they stay in this fine seed mix that dries out fast. Any help regarding raising seedlings is appreciated.
Cheryl

Thumbnail by newtonsthirdlaw
Click the image for an enlarged view.

steadycam3
Houston Heights, TX
(Zone 9a)

March 18, 2012
9:08 PM

Post #9048110

If the container they are in is tall enough, I usually set the containers in a shallow saucer of some sort and keep about 1/4" of water in it at all times. The more roots they get the faster they use the water. After they have their second set of leaves, I usually but not always pick them out with a spoon or similar and place them in potting soil, trying very hard not to disturb the root. After they have adjusted to this I begin feeding with 1/2 strength Miracle Gro (blue water) about every 2 weeks. I continue using the 1/4" water at the bottom until they can be potted up to large enough pots to retain some water for more than one day. During all this time, I have them under grow lights or flourescent lights or outside if weather is warm enough but in the shade.
newtonsthirdlaw
Arlington, TX

March 18, 2012
9:13 PM

Post #9048120

Every time I try to move the smaller plants they die. I really want a few of these so when they make more leaves I will move them to better dirt. Thanks for the advice.
C
steadycam3
Houston Heights, TX
(Zone 9a)

March 18, 2012
9:20 PM

Post #9048129