Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Roses: New to Roses - Now have Four - General Advice?

Communities > Forums > Roses
bookmark
Forum: RosesReplies: 14, Views: 83
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Hastur
Houston, TX

March 22, 2012
8:24 AM

Post #9052657

Hi there. *waves* I'm Hastur and I'm brand new to rose growing.

In an attempt to bring more bees to my yard, I decided to try my hand at some antique roses. I am now the proud owner of two Dame Decour (I probably mangled the spelling there), one Don Juan, and one Green Rose. All of them have been transplanted from their pots to their homes in the ground, and they are blooming already so at least something is going right.

I chose these because my understanding is that they are hardy, will grow, and are not "fussy". I'm a vegetable gardener, normally, and have only recently started seeing flowers as 'useful' so I wanted things that are easy.

I've gone through and read every post that made any amount of sense to me, and I've been reading everything I can online, and I now have a couple of questions that are probably obvious to you guys, but not to me.

1) I want to pick the flowers, so that I can dry the petals to use in - well, something. Is there a place on the plant that I should pick them/cut them so that the plant will continue to bloom, and I won't hurt it?

If these were the wild roses that used to grow in Maine, I would snip off one or two flowers per plant, and let the rest go nuts, but this is different. I want to encourage the wee plants to grow into the monsters that I am hoping for.