Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Vegetables: Cucumber Seedlings

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 6, Views: 107
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
klriedel
Ottawa
Canada

March 22, 2012
9:41 AM

Post #9052740

Hi There,

This is my first time planting from seeds :)

I planted my National Pickling seeds 9 days ago on March 14th. They have really grown since then and I am curious to know if they are growing ok :)

I have attached a picture and I would appreciate any feedback!

Thanks so much!

Thumbnail by klriedel
Click the image for an enlarged view.

dreaves

dreaves
Hutto, TX
(Zone 8b)

March 22, 2012
10:39 AM

Post #9052812

The seedlings look good, but there may be a problem. When do you expect to plant outside? I would guess that in Ottawa that it is still quite some time. I know that people with shorter growing seasons start their plants indoors to get a start of the season, but I would guess that you may be a little early for your cucumbers. If the plant gets too big, it won't transplant well. From everything I've read, two or three weeks is the most that the plants should be started before transplanting. You may also have difficulty with enough light for the plant. The seedling will stretch toward the available light and will get really "leggy" and fragile if there isn't a strong source of light.

Here's a link that mentions transplanting and has more information on growing cucumbers:

http://www.gardenersgardening.com/growingcucumbers.html

David
Doug9345
Durhamville, NY
(Zone 5b)

March 22, 2012
6:48 PM

Post #9053387