Photo by Melody

Beginner Vegetables: New Gardeners! Why did you start?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 58, Views: 437
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ParmaJon
Portland, OR

March 28, 2012
6:06 PM

Post #9061122

While browsing some garden and food blogs, I came upon some statistics about how many new veg gardeners there are. The timing of the uptick from 34% of us households growing veg in 2009 to 54% in 2010 coincides almost directly with the fall of Lehman Brothers, kinda interesting. I can say that the economy was definitely the reason I got interested in gardening, but not to save money. Work as a farm hand seemed to be the only non-service job I could get when I graduated in 2009, I thought it was a fall back, but it became my leading passion in life. What got everyone here into growing their own?

speediebean

speediebean
Somewhere in, MD
(Zone 7b)

March 29, 2012
4:38 AM

Post #9061469

Good morning ParmaJon, how are you this lovely morning?