-
AuthorContent
amacgillivray
GABRIOLA
Canada

April 9, 2012
7:37 AM

Post #9075324

I have recently moved to the country and this is my first year of veggie gardening on this property. Last fall I built 2 raised beds and got a bit carried away planting porcelain garlic. So until I create more space, my main option is to plant something that does not need much space amongst garlic plants and that won't interfere w garlic harvest sometime around mid July.

I have some snap pea seeds but read that garlic and legumes aren't a good combination. Radishes? Lettuce? Other?
We're apparently in zone 8a (on Canada's west coast) and have had a cool wet spring so far, but warming up now.
Thanks!

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

April 9, 2012
2:23 PM

Post #9075929

I plant leeks and shallots with my garlic. Both are fairly expensive to buy in the stores, and I love cooking with them.
KathyWid
Clover, SC

April 10, 2012
1:45 PM

Post #9077293

Garlic is an excellent companion plant for tomatoes ... it repels pests! Read more here: http://www.tomatodirt.com/companion-plants.html
amacgillivray
GABRIOLA
Canada

April 10, 2012
3:39 PM

Post #9077435

Thank you for the ideas. Tomatoes hadn't occurred to me; I should be able to put some in next month.
TX_gardener
Brady, TX
(Zone 8a)

April 11, 2012
5:32 AM

Post #9078067

How about garlic in with okra? I have large diameter pots for my okra and feel like it's wasted space.
amacgillivray
GABRIOLA
Canada

April 16, 2012
1:45 PM

Post #9084984

Just did some research on okra and I doubt we'd get a good crop here (too cool). Probably a good hint that it isn't in local seed catalogs or display stands. Thanks again everyone.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

April 18, 2012
2:57 PM

Post #9087934