Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Gardening Questions: texas sage tree

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 15, Views: 122
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
kimbereley
Deltona, FL

April 15, 2012
4:43 PM

Post #9083831

I just got two texas sage trees on friday & planted them in large containers, well today while looking at one of them I see one tree has black on some of the branches along with white frothy stuff, some of the leafs are falling off with black spots on them. When I look at the other tree I see none of this. What is wrong with my new tree? Should I try to take it back? How do I fix this? I am a beginner & know nothing about stuff like this. PLEASE HELP!

Thank you
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

April 15, 2012
4:54 PM

Post #9083842

Can you post some pictures?

The white frothy stuff is probably spittlebugs--at least out here this is the time of year they usually show up. They don't typically do much damage (although they can carry diseases) but I hose off the spit when I see it. They will go away on their own too--they show up for a short time in the spring and then disappear. I've never had a plant damaged by them so I definitely wouldn't return the plant to the nursery because of them (not to mention they might not be the nursery's fault in the first place--those could have easily come from your yard somewhere). This is what I suspect based on your description but a picture would help confirm.