Help, pls: full sun preschool garden (around small sign)

Wellesley Hills, MA

Hi, friends,

I'm a slightly amateur gardener in MA, outside of Boston. I'm going to make a small garden around the sign of my daughter's preschool which hopefully can happily herald people and kiddies into the school in all seasons. It needs to be relatively low maintenance, mostly perennial, somewhat drought tolerant, in full sun, some winter interest, and if possible, not too attractive to stinging insects (we've had problems with wasp and hornet nests in the school yard and subsequent stings). Can anyone recommend something? For evergreen, I considered hinoki cypress which has a bright, cheerful feel no matter what the season. I also considered some native, tall coneflowers, plume poppy (to be kept in check), feather reed grass (zebra would have been fun but might cut little hands), coreopsis groundcover, yellow or red twigged dogwood, underplantings of daffodils and spring and fall crocuses.... any thoughts, anyone?

Many thanks in advance!

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

Can you post a picture of the area?

Butterfly bush would be another one to consider--they are pretty and bloom a lot in the summer and attract butterflies which I'm sure the kids would enjoy. Not a lot of winter interest, but very pretty in the summer

Not sure the dogwood would be happy in that area--they are understory trees so would probably do better with a little more shade (not sure how drought tolerant they are either). Of course I don't know what your summers are like, if they're fairly cool then full sun may work just fine but they will likely need more water than many of the other plants you've mentioned.