-
AuthorContent
lindaboom
New Harmony, UT
(Zone 5b)

April 19, 2012
10:26 AM

Post #9088950

This is my first time growing veggies from seed. When potting up what kind of potting mix is best to use and is the potting mix moistened before it is put into the pots (like seed starting mix) or is it put into the pot dry and watered after the seedling has been transplanted? All advice is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Linda
yardener
Greenfield, OH
(Zone 6a)

April 19, 2012
12:49 PM

Post #9089096

Most do it wet since the peat in most mixes is hard to wet. The water just runs off.
I've done it both ways with no problem.
I'd recommend dampening it first.

Thumbnail by yardener
Click the image for an enlarged view.

microbiology1
Foxboro, MA

April 19, 2012
1:19 PM

Post #9089153

So you have already started the seedlings are are just potting up? You should be transferring into soil now. Most seed starting mix is low in nutrients which is fine for germinating, but not for plants that are growing rapidly. I usually use organic "in ground" soil and compost. You can use potting mix but that has time release fertilizer in it which may not have the correct level of nutrients for your plants. I'd rather control what goes into my pots than rely on fertilizer in the bag.

If you are just starting your seeds:
Definetely moisten the mix first. The peat really does repel water in the beginning. Most commerically available mixes are made of peat and perlite or vermiculite. You can make a the mix yourself easily and it's much cheaper. I use a mix of:

1 part compost/manure
2 parts peat moss
1 part perlite/vermiculite
behillman
Plantersville, TX
(Zone 9a)

April 19, 2012
1:42 PM

Post #9089173

You can buy potting mix with a fertilizer, or make your own mix buy mixing compost,sand,& fertilizer. Some people wet the mix before planting, & then add more water after planting. And always keep out of direct sun for a couple of days.

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

April 20, 2012