Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
sprout13
Palmyra, MO

May 3, 2012
3:03 PM

Post #9109100

Hi everyone one! I'm new here *waves hello* to those that I haven't met yet. I am completely new at bird watching, but I'm really enjoying it and all the friendly people here at DG.

I have a silly question regarding Baltimore Orioles that I was hoping you can all help me with. I am really hoping to attract one (I know - HIGH HOPES for a newbie bird watcher lol). I have read tons of articles online (including here), and have gathered a great amount of info on attracting them.

I now have my Jam and Orange halves out and I am refreshing them often (been doing so for two weeks) and really hoping the BirdGods send an Oriole my way. My problem is all my Jams and Oranges attract are a ton of flies and bees. How do you guys keep bugs off your oranges and out of your Jams? Do you only leave the items out in the day and take them in at night - or leave them out 24/7? and How often do you change out your Orange Halves and Jam?

I would love to hear what all you experts do :)
pelletory
Marlton, NJ

May 3, 2012
8:30 PM

Post #9109543

Hi sprout, I'm going to bump this thread up in hopes that ducbucin, nanny or someone else who host Orioles will see it.
koshki
Grosse Pointe Shores, MI
(Zone 6a)

May 4, 2012
11:07 AM

Post #9110260

Hi, I'm new to the bird forum, too, and have the very same question. I had a jelly jar feeder out for Orioles last year, but eventually the wasps found it and ate all the jelly.

I'd love to hear suggestions to prevent this!
pelletory
Marlton, NJ

May 4, 2012
1:07 PM

Post #9110367

I'll D mail the people to ask for their help concerning this and they'll get back to you.
ducbucln
Kelseyville, CA
(Zone 8b)

May 4, 2012
1:46 PM

Post #9110419

Welcome Sprout13 and Koshki, I don't have the Baltimore Orioles, but I do have the Bullock's and Hooded Orioles here now.