Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Soil and Composting: Help! Clematis in the compost heap

Communities > Forums > Soil and Composting
bookmark
Forum: Soil and CompostingReplies: 9, Views: 123
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
BrrrAnn
Lunenburg, MA
(Zone 5b)

May 15, 2012
7:14 PM

Post #9125374

hi - I had a clematis I inherited that had just about pooped out, so last fall I cut the branches and tossed them on my compost pile. Now I read that all parts of the clematis are poisonous! Does that mean my compost pile is contaminated? Do the poisons break down over time? I've already used some of the compost from that heap in my veggie garden. Are my veggies potentially lethal?

Help.
bellieg
Virginia Beach, VA

May 16, 2012
4:24 AM

Post #9125620

I am no expert on poison but I had composted trimmings from clematises which i have tons of. some one are more knowledgeable.

Belle

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

May 17, 2012
6:30 AM

Post #9126986

I didn't know clematis was poisonous! I'll have to dig out the one I have growing over my mail box.

Thanks for the heads-up!

juhur7

juhur7
Anderson, IN
(Zone 6a)

May 17, 2012
5:15 PM

Post #9127685

I've heard that about clematis, only I will leave mine where they are as I don't plan on eating of them.And I doubt that many others ever thought the same about eating their clematis.

sallyg

sallyg
Anne Arundel,, MD
(Zone 7b)

May 18, 2012
8:26 PM

Post #9129097

I would not worry.
Dilution plus breakdown in nature and soil chemistry.
Dean_W
Central Texas, TX
(Zone 8b)

May 19, 2012
5:58 AM

Post #9129367

[quote="sallyg"]I would not worry.
Dilution plus breakdown in nature and soil chemistry.[/quote]

Exactly, through decay the poison if they exist will just seep into the soil. No need to fret and I wouldn't worry about poisoning your veggies.