Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Bird Identification: What bird laid this egg?

Communities > Forums > Bird Identification
bookmark
Forum: Bird IdentificationReplies: 10, Views: 120
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

May 20, 2012
10:08 AM

Post #9130624

I am SO not knowledgeable about birds, but found this nest and egg in a bush we removed. Can someone tell me the bird?

TIA

Thumbnail by darius
Click the image for an enlarged view.

Lily_love

Lily_love
Central, AL
(Zone 7b)

May 22, 2012
8:58 AM

Post #9133431

darius, I hope someone will be able to answer your question. I'm relatively new at birding and have seen very few eggs in person, thus unable to assist with your quest for an answer. From what I've observed, some common garden birds will use nest boxes, those that nest within shurberies are Mockingbirds, Thrushes, Brown Thrashers ect. I just wanted to share bit of my experience, and hope to bump this thread up for an answer. Good lucks.

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

May 22, 2012
9:01 AM

Post #9133437

Thanks. I did find some websites that help to ID bird eggs, and this one probably is some kind of wren.

Lily_love

Lily_love
Central, AL
(Zone 7b)

May 22, 2012
9:14 AM

Post #9133461

Those poor Wrens, they have a tendency to build nest in every odd place. Early spring my son found a nest that was built in his hanging flower basket... The Wrens wasn't discouraged by human activity, but when it tried to incubate, and the basket was taking down to be watered. The Momma bird got frightened and abandoned the clutch of half dozen or so eggs. Such bad outcome!!!

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

May 22, 2012
10:47 AM

Post #9133595

Yes, they seem to not be choosy about nesting places!

Lily_love

Lily_love
Central, AL