Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Insect and Spider Identification: Tiny yellow worms

Communities > Forums > Insect and Spider Identification
bookmark
Forum: Insect and Spider IdentificationReplies: 16, Views: 120
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mmch

May 23, 2012
9:53 AM

Post #9135110

Hi all,

I'm not a gardener but I'm hoping you all may be able to help me.

I'm a builder and I'm currently working on a job where there has been a leak from a washing machine that saturated the entire floor about 2 years ago. The moisture has slowly disintegrated the area and I'm replacing it.
I'm currently in the stage of ripping up the sub floor. In between the top layer (plywood) and the underlayer (chipboard) there was a lot of mould and, at first what I thought was sawdust... Until I saw the whole floor was moving.

Millions of tiny yellow worms, no more than a millimetre in length. At first I thought woodworm, but I'm pretty sure they couldn't eat chipboard and ply (very high glue content) and there was no sign of any holes.

Im sorry they are too small for a photo, I tried.
Any one know what they might be and if I need to be concerned about them? I'm from london england.

Thanks in advance :)
M

sallyg

sallyg
Anne Arundel,, MD
(Zone 7b)

May 24, 2012
8:06 PM

Post #9137435

I don't know but I feel pretty sure that getting rid of the water problem and old materials will eliminate them. I'd probably take an added step -- spraying with pesticide after demolition and before putting new material in. They sound too small for termites.
mmch

May 24, 2012
11:50 PM

Post #9137635

Yeah I've sprayed the area now and laid down a thin layer of dry plaster to draw any moisture out of the concrete... and everything is out the front of the house