Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Central Midwest Gardening: What are your favorite flowers?

Communities > Forums > Central Midwest Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Central Midwest GardeningReplies: 5, Views: 62
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Gardenblue2
Overland Park, KS
(Zone 6a)

May 24, 2012
8:30 PM

Post #9137471

Hi! I'm new to Dave's Garden.
I garden in the Kansas City area.

What are your favorite flowers?
Mine are probably whatever is in bloom when I am asked, LOL!
However, I would have to say zinnias, coneflowers, and marigolds are favorites of mine.
Oldies but goodies!

I am really going through an annual phase right now.
I have perennials, and appreciate when they come back each year, but I also enjoy changing it up
and planting different annuals and having lots of color to play with!
Like painting with flowers...
shortleaf
suburban K.C., MO
(Zone 6a)

May 25, 2012
9:23 PM

Post #9138901

Hi neighbor, welcome,
hmmm.. my favorite flower would probably be the Prickly-Pear flower. It is such a short-lived but solid color flower depending on which one you have. I had the regular one a few years ago and it bloomed this really nice yellow. There is just something cool about a cactus in flower! The Prickly-Pear that I have now is too small to flower I think. It grows every year since 2007 or so when I put it in this little Hawaiian Punch jug bottom, I am afraid to put it in a bigger pot, I think I'm going to get stuck and I don't want to ruin a pair of gloves either! I always wanted to see my Cholla flower purple also but it has never flowered, I'm still waiting.
The pic is my big, old Prickly-Pear from yesteryear.

Thumbnail by shortleaf
Click the image for an enlarged view.

pepper23
KC Metro area, MO
(Zone 6a)

May 27, 2012
5:26 PM