Photo by Melody

Herbs: So what are you doing with all those herbs?

Communities > Forums > Herbs
bookmark
Forum: HerbsReplies: 12, Views: 117
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
l6blue
Coon Rapids, MN
(Zone 4b)

June 6, 2012
11:55 AM

Post #9154724

I've enjoyed reading the responses to podster's thread on what herbs we have in our gardens this year (http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1259611/). So, now I'm curious. Just what plans do you have for all those herbs? I'll start. I'm an avid cook, and I love to travel, and I love to cook foods that I've eaten on my travels. I've always planted some of the standard herbs, but I had to expand my herb garden after a trip to Germany in 2010. I fell in love with the ubiquitous Frankfurter Gruene Sosse (green sauce from Frankfurt), and wanted to make it when I got home. Unfortunately, not all the herbs required for this sauce are readily available here (borrage, cress, salad burnet, lovage, sorrel), so I had to order some seeds and grow my own. Check out the recipe here: http://www.germany-insider-facts.com/green-sauce.html
I'm happy to report that when I'm not preparing German food, any of these herbs can be muddled into a delicious cocktail!
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

June 8, 2012
9:38 PM

Post #9157755

Hi I6blue ~ I read this post and went on to the link you added and got sidetracked. That green sauce sounds wonderful. Of course, I like German foods having grown up near a Minnesota German community. lol Great that you are able to grow all the necessary herbal ingredients for the sauce.

I must admit that some of the herbs I grow are simply for my pleasure. I do use the bay leaves in cooking and will use them either dried or fresh. It is astounding to me how wonderful bay tastes when recently harvested.

I hope to use the allspice leaves in the same manner as I doubt I will ever harvest allspice from this little tree. It has a flavor that will make the mouth water when you smell a crushed leave.