Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Vegetables: first year gardner..

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 6, Views: 93
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
angel1237b
rothesay , new bruns
Canada

June 7, 2012
8:56 AM

Post #9155676

i am so worried about all the bugs living in my garden...i did find 2 worms that were cutting my beans and corn...seems it has stopped now...see pictures..i found a new bug..good or bad?

Thumbnail by angel1237b   Thumbnail by angel1237b   Thumbnail by angel1237b
Click an image for an enlarged view.

HoneybeeNC

HoneybeeNC
Charlotte, NC
(Zone 7b)

June 7, 2012
9:08 AM

Post #9155690

angel - I'm not good at identifying bugs, so perhaps someone else will answer your question.

I will tell you that I've been gardening for 68 years and have never needed to spray for pests. The first year of a new garden will certainly bring in bugs, both good and bad, but if you build up your soil over the years, your garden will yield successfully without the need to spray.

Thumbnail by HoneybeeNC   Thumbnail by HoneybeeNC
Click an image for an enlarged view.

yardener
Greenfield, OH
(Zone 6a)

June 7, 2012
10:09 AM

Post #9155756

When it comes to bugs, farmers and those practicing integrated pest management will often refer to the economic threshold. This is a point where a pest has reached a level where it can impact your profit. Yes, even gardeners can see a profit. Is it cheaper to grow a particular veggie or buy it at the farmers market?
Scouting the garden daily will help you determine the pest population. What is the economic thershold for your garden? Only you and some experience can say.