Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Saving Seeds: How Do I harvest & save seeds from impatients?

Communities > Forums > Saving Seeds
bookmark
Forum: Saving SeedsReplies: 6, Views: 74
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

hartzell81

hartzell81
Mount Pleasant, PA
(Zone 6a)

June 9, 2012
10:14 PM

Post #9158777

I'm new to saving seeds and have some impatients I would like to collect seeds from.

What is the best way to obtain the seeds?
How do I "process" them to save them & so they germinate next year?

speediebean

speediebean
Somewhere in, MD
(Zone 7b)

June 22, 2012
3:58 AM

Post #9175454

Oh dear, I see that no one has addressed this yet, so I shall give it a try.

Firstly, I think the only viable seeds can be gotten from "regular" impatiens, not from hybrid varieties. Well, maybe you can get **some**, but they probably won't grow "true"... the outcome most likely won't resemble the parent plant.

Ok, so after you've decided to collect seeds from a "regular" impatiens, then you watch for the flower petals to start to drop off, that's when the seed pod is formed. You should be able to see the pod at the center of where the flower was, and it should be a nice bright green and should be "plump". They are rather sensitive to touch, might explode if you mess with it too much, so ...

Get your collection container and hold it under the pod, then snip off the seed pod from the stem, so that the pod (and a little bit of stem) falls into the collection container. You can use a paper sack (which works best, not only for staying-open-ability, but also for air circulation), or whatever you've got handy. Snip all the seed pods you want so that they'll fall into your collection container.