Photo by Melody

Beginner Gardening Questions: "Full Sun" they said...

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 5, Views: 76
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
grapeleaves
Pleasant Hill, CA

June 13, 2012
10:01 AM

Post #9163569

I'm an amateur gardener in Northern California (east bay to be specific, zone 9 I think) and I'm wondering:
I have a number of plants that are recommended "Full Sun." However, one day of full sun and these plants are wilting and spotting and drying. I try to keep the plants regularly watered (I grow both flowers and vegetables) but I wonder if that is my problem, drought, or if this California sun is just too much.

Your advice is appreciated.

kwanjin

kwanjin
West Valley City, UT
(Zone 7a)

June 13, 2012
10:30 AM

Post #9163598

What plants? Some can handle full sun but do need lots of water.
grapeleaves
Pleasant Hill, CA

June 13, 2012
12:58 PM

Post #9163792

Thank you for your reply. Here are some examples of some plants of mine that struggle in the sun:

Silver mint (potted to avoid it spreading, leaves burn in the sun)
Lemon basil (recently transplanted into my raised bed a few days ago, wilted but puckers up a bit after I water)
Squash (Always spots and dries at the first hot day and remains unhealthy looking through the rest of the season)
Blackberry (potted to avoid spreading, leaves burned up in the sun)

I have a weeper hose set up through my raised beds but not for my potted plants. Should I have the hose on a drip at all times? Would watering my potted plants more frequently be the solution? Or do I need to move them?
tommyr2006
Poughkeepsie, NY

June 13, 2012
2:59 PM

Post #9163941

Potted plants dry out a LOT quicker. So do raised beds. Sounds like you need to water more frequently.
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

June 13, 2012
6:17 PM

Post #9164138