Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
MaryThompson
Woodbridge, VA

June 23, 2012
5:22 PM

Post #9177677

I'm relatively new to gardening and I'm confused about how to space my flowers. The packages/tags or information in magazines always says, like, 'plant 12" apart' (for example).

But when I look at the photos of flowers gardens in magazines, nothing is spaced 12" apart with gaps between. Things seem to be planted next to each other with no gaps between the foliage or blossoms.

So I don't understand how that cheek-to-jowl look is achieved. Am I supposed to plant other flowers in the gaps between the first flowers? Are the spacing guidelines merely suggestions?

Thanks for your help,
Mary.
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

June 23, 2012
6:58 PM

Post #9177758

The spacing on the tag is to allow the plant room to grow and it's based on how big the plants will get when they're full grown. If you plant according to the spacing on the tag, then when the plants get full grown the space in between should be filled in, but the plants won't be growing into each other.

In the pictures in magazines, the plants have been allowed to grow, so they've filled in the space in between already which is why they look closer. But if you measured the distance from the center of one plant to the center of another, you would probably find it's fairly close to what the plant tag told you. Or, if things are planted specifically for the purposes of posing for a picture they may plant things too close to begin with