Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Poultry and Livestock: HELP! My hen's hatching chicks & I'm not sure what to do!!!

Communities > Forums > Poultry and Livestock
bookmark
Forum: Poultry and LivestockReplies: 5, Views: 82
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Glenda_Michigan
Fowlerville, MI
(Zone 5b)

June 28, 2012
7:54 AM

Post #9184566

My Orpington's chicks are hatching and I'm not sure what to do...

She is on a next inside the coop.
I locked all the other hens and roosters outside for the day.

Do I try to move her, the newly hatched chicks, and the rest of the eggs to another location?
Do the chicks need water while in the nest with the hen?
I put a board/ramp inside so the chicks can get down from the nest?
When will she try to leave the nest with her chicks?

I need step by step help on what to do for her!!! This is my first time having a hen hatch her own chicks!
On one side, I'm excited!!! On the other, I'm thinking, "Oh NO!!"
green04735
Bridgewater, ME

June 28, 2012
4:36 PM

Post #9185274