Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Cucumber plants NOT flowering.....

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 12, Views: 127
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Cate333
Freemansburg, PA

July 9, 2012
4:34 PM

Post #9199509

Hello Everyone! I am new to Dave's. I have searched the internet relentlessly trying to figure out what is going on with my cucumber plants but haven't gotten anywhere! I am hoping someone can help me solve my mystery! Last year I purchased Burpee Cucumber Homemade Pickle seeds and had a very successful season. At the end of season I let a few cucumbers lay in my garden and hoped they would germinate this spring. Well did they ever! I have over 15 plants coming up around my garden and did not move them, I just trellised them and let them go crazy. My plants are about 8 weeks now and the vines and leaves are growing beautifully however, not ONE flower(male or female) has grown on any of my plants! (15 plants growing) I am finding this very odd and have searched for reason on how to correct this, but I've come up empty handed. Am I not being patient? I remember last year that the plants weren't as far along week wise and were already producing fruit. Could it be that the seeds are genetically altered NOT to produce fruit a second season? It says nothing about them being hybrids on the seed packet either. Could it be too much nitrogen in the soil? I do not think this is the problem. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

Thumbnail by Cate333   Thumbnail by Cate333   Thumbnail by Cate333
Click an image for an enlarged view.

ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

July 9, 2012
6:37 PM

Post #9199675