Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: question about lilies

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 4, Views: 59
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
susieberet
Davis, CA

July 10, 2012
9:40 PM

Post #9201136

I am new at planting lilies. I have some Asiatic and Oriental lilies now that just finished blooming. Should leave the stalks with leaves as they are as I would with daffodils, or can I simply cut them down now?
etnredclay
Spring City, TN

July 11, 2012
6:16 AM

Post #9201375

Greenery is needed to process sunlight. Even the daffy people do that wierd braiding thing so some greenery has access to sunlight.

And the greenery on my Asiatics still looks great. Nice contrast for the other plants in the beds. Is yours looking poorly?
altagardener
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3b)

July 11, 2012
6:59 AM

Post #9201410

You should leave the stems standing, unmolested (i.e. not braided or any other weird thing done to them). ;-)

flowAjen

flowAjen
central, NJ
(Zone 6b)

July 16, 2012
8:06 PM

Post #9208131

You can deadhead the very top but leave the green stem, when it browns cut it all the way to the ground
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

August 6, 2012
7:49 AM

Post #9231442

Susiebert, the reason you leave all the greenery on ALL bulbs is the foliage dying down allows the sap / juices / nutrients etc to slowly fall down into the bulb and this both feeds the bulbs for flowering the following year and also helps it stay alive during the bulbs dormant season.