Photo by Melody

Brugmansias: First summer with a balcony ;)

Communities > Forums > Brugmansias
bookmark
Forum: BrugmansiasReplies: 3, Views: 59
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
sl0
Aalborg
Denmark

July 16, 2012
5:22 PM

Post #9207837

got this one from the local plant center, all it had was a "brugmensia" label so i can't help u with what i got here. I'm also a very new brug owner, first two pic's are straight in new pot the very first day it got home, last two are 3 weeks later, seems like it's doing ok ;)
Any advices, hints will be more than welcome, i'm very new at this. I make my living as a live sound engineer, so this is as far from my everyday life/skills as i can get...
_sl0

Thumbnail by sl0   Thumbnail by sl0   Thumbnail by sl0   Thumbnail by sl0
Click an image for an enlarged view.

bettydee
La Grange, TX
(Zone 8b)

July 17, 2012
12:34 AM

Post #9208283

Usually, I wouldn't even try to guess which Brugmansia it is if it doesn't come with a cultivar label because there are so many look alike out in the market now-a-days, but B. arborea is a fairly distinctive species. That calx with the long lobe that covers a good portion of the flower tube and those fuzzy leaves belong to the species arborea. It is also self-pollinating and has the sweetest and most powerful fragrance of all the Brugs. If you are lucky to get some seed pods to set, the pods should be round or slightly egg shaped as in the pod shown in this link:
http://ibrugs.com/Resources/HybridizingBrugmansia/BrugmansiaAnatomy.aspx