Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Flowers: Is it ok to trim back the leaves for more room to bloom?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 3, Views: 37
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Kalloused
Orem, UT
(Zone 6b)

July 20, 2012
5:18 PM

Post #9212784

This is my first year growing flowers and I have some thriving 4'oclocks. I had my first Bloom yesterday, A beautiful red/light pink. Two more are opening up right now. The one that opened up yesterday closed up and took part of the surrounding leaf with it. The flower buds are surrounded with long leaves cramping it to fully bloom(the first one yesterday isn't reopening for some reason and I don't know why). Is it ok to trim back the leaves to give the flowers more room to open up or will that harm the plant?
Kalloused
Orem, UT
(Zone 6b)

July 20, 2012
5:34 PM

Post #9212799

Also, Do these only bloom once? i don't understand why the first flower from yesterday isn't reopening. It just closed in on itself and is staying that way. It didn't close up in a long, tube like spiral the way it looked before it first opened. It like, folded itself in half and then closed, part of the stamen is sticking out. Did I do something wrong and can I prevent this from happening to the other flowers?
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

July 20, 2012
5:48 PM

Post #9212814