Photo by Melody

Water Gardens: How do I place a corkscrew rush in the water?

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 21, Views: 119
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lovedirtynails
Portland, OR

July 21, 2012
8:10 AM

Post #9213275

I am just beginning to put plants in my new water feature.. I have a small stream falling about 15 feet into a 800 gallon pond. I have nothing planted around it yet. I do have a few lilies, and hyacinths in the pond have some rush that I am transplanting from another part of my garden and was wondering if it needs to put the rush in soil or can I just weigh down the roots with rocks. Won't soil muck up the pond? Is there a web site someone can recommend for rookies like me? I don't want fish, but I do want to attract frogs and birds, and I want plants around the edges, but once outside the liner, the soil is very dry...it must be different for people with natural water features in their yards.

Will plant roots eventually destroy the liner?

Sorry about these questions. I'm sure they've been answered hundreds of time in this forum, but I've spent hours going through the threads.

anne
KayJones
Panama City Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

July 21, 2012
9:34 AM

Post #9213346

I have mine in a pot, which is sunken in my pre-formed pond - it's growing well so far.
BonnieGardens
Clermont, FL
(Zone 9a)

July 21, 2012
1:15 PM

Post #9213504

All my plants are in pots sunken at the right depth. Hyacinths are just floating as is water lettuce.