Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Beginner Flowers: Whats eating my flower foliage?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 6, Views: 88
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
destinip
Oklahoma City, OK
(Zone 7a)

July 24, 2012
3:50 PM

Post #9217239

These are stock vintage red thats what is says on the pack. I have grown them from seed so they are near and dear to my heart. This is my first year to EVER have flower gardens. Something keeps chowing down on my poor flowers leaves. Whats weird is that the rest of the flowers in the pot with them are fine (untouched). Help please I use Specticide that you hook to a hose regularly, but usually it doesnt help this problem. So I use aza max for these flowers. However if I dont catch them in time(everytime) then they start getting eaten. Now they are beginning to become unhealthy.

Thumbnail by destinip   Thumbnail by destinip
Click an image for an enlarged view.

JasperDale
Long Beach, CA
(Zone 10a)

July 24, 2012
10:30 PM

Post #9217651

Try using a granular systemic insecticide like is used on roses.
Looks like the damage is from an insect with chewing mouthparts. No visible fecal matter in the photo's so that sort of rules out cutworms and the like.
Systemics work well as the plant takes up the poison and when the culprit ingests it, they die.
purpleinopp
Opp, AL
(Zone 8b)

July 27, 2012
7:31 AM

Post #9220286

Great job on your flowers! Are they the fragrant kind?