Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Good Vegetables For a Toddler Garden?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 9, Views: 54
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
honesteyes
Fort Worth, TX

August 1, 2012
9:10 AM

Post #9225937

I have a small yard and have been doing a little gardening each year for the past 4 years but really I am still a novice really only having much success with tomatoes and peppers.. I also have 3 young children who I usually don't include much in the gardening process except letting them water and pick tomatoes. I ran across this idea of a toddler garden on http://www.toddler-tips-and-tricks.com/toddler-garden.html and I thought it was a good idea. Just wondering if any of you garden with small children involved and what vegetables you find to be hardy enough to withstand their "help" and my inexperience? I live in Texas so I can do a fall garden as well, though I never have done one, but I've been told I can. What are some hardy vegetables you use for fall gardens?

kittriana

kittriana
Magnolia, TX
(Zone 8b)

August 1, 2012
1:25 PM

Post #9226198

Onions, garlic, chives, not sure if you have time for more beans, maters, and most things are stalled in tween waiting cooler temps, bulb things like beets, turnips, are hidden so not much 'fun' to grow, pumpkins- I am not sure if they could make in time...

themoonhowl

themoonhowl
Prairieville, LA
(Zone 9a)

August 1, 2012
5:08 PM

Post #9226390