AuthorContent
Shawn_Paul
Syracuse, NY
(Zone 5b)

August 5, 2012
7:16 PM

Post #9230947

Hello everyone,

First time poster. I am a very novice plant owner. I recently purchased a Duarte Citrus Tree (I think it is a Mandarin Orange tree but it may be a Lime tree as well. It had both tags on it, unfortunately) while in South Carolina and then brought it back to Pennsylvania, and then New York. It has been doing quite well and has been sprouting new leaves from all of its branches. I am wondering if I should be pruning these new leaves or something because the lateral branches are growing so rapidly that they are making the branches so heavy that they don't stand up properly and are beginning to sag.

It is worth mentioning that I don't know any of the plant care lingo or basic techniques, but I am an adept Googler and can figure out the idea most of the time.

In the pictures, the dark green leaves are the original plant and the light green is the new growth that is going hogwild. Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks!
Shawn

Thumbnail by Shawn_Paul   Thumbnail by Shawn_Paul
Click an image for an enlarged view.

jaimelemon

jaimelemon
St. Louis, MO
(Zone 6a)

August 6, 2012
8:42 AM

Post #9231532

Hi Shawn!! Welcome!