Photo by Melody

Plumerias: Can't repot because of space.

Communities > Forums > Plumerias
bookmark
Forum: PlumeriasReplies: 5, Views: 124
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Barrysewall
Larsen, WI
(Zone 5a)

August 11, 2012
8:34 AM

Post #9237700

Hello everyone! I need to figure out what I should do if the only outdoor placement of my Plumies is on a small deck. Can I dig them out of the pot and then repot them in the same pot since I have very limited space?

Please let me know...

Thanks much
Barry

Thumbnail by Barrysewall
Click the image for an enlarged view.

flsusie
New Port Richey, FL

August 12, 2012
1:56 AM

Post #9238615

Barry, I'm no expert on Plumerias but in general I have found that plants that aren't given room to grow and adequate care don't perform very well. I'm one of those people that if I want 1 I root several then I have your dilema. I solve the problem by giving the surplus to family and friends. That way if something happens to mine I know where to get more cuttings. 2 or 3 happy plants will produce more foliage and flowers than 7 or 8 stressed ones. The hardest job in gardeing is culling out the weak and surplus.
KayJones
Lee's Summit, MO
(Zone 6a)

August 18, 2012
10:56 AM

Post #9245667

Plumerias can be taken out of the pot, the soil washed from the roots and stored in a dark, cool closet. If you don't have room for the pots during growing season, that's another matter and Susie is right - donate them to someone who DOES have room for an adequate pot OR extend your deck.
Barrysewall
Larsen, WI
(Zone 5a)

August 19, 2012
6:16 PM

Post #9247019

YEPPER
DAVEDON
North Augusta, SC
(Zone 8a)

January 22, 2013
1:27 PM

Post #9393872

Same problem; considering raised bed and drop pot (plunge) against house. You can make the bed very dense I notice and get lots of plants in small space. 1 foot apart?
JPlunket
Vieques, PR

January 26, 2013
9:30 AM

Post #9398103