Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Tomatoes: Vivia Italia much better than Roma.

Communities > Forums > Tomatoes
bookmark
Forum: TomatoesReplies: 15, Views: 169
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

newyorkrita

newyorkrita
North Shore of L. I., NY
(Zone 6b)

August 16, 2012
1:02 PM

Post #9243699

This is my first year for Vivia Italia but I will never plant Romas again. Much, much better taste to the Vivia Italia. Not a problem with blossom end rot and heavy production. They taste quite good fresh also and I never wanted to eat my Romas fresh. I put the tape measure there in one of the pictures so you can see that they are a nice sized tomato too.

Thumbnail by newyorkrita   Thumbnail by newyorkrita
Click an image for an enlarged view.

idealpeggy
Lexington, KY
(Zone 6b)

September 6, 2012
10:15 AM

Post #9267037

Rita, thanks for that. I'm planning my garden for next year, and am looking for a good Roma tomato. Is this one determinate?

newyorkrita

newyorkrita
North Shore of L. I., NY
(Zone 6b)

September 6, 2012
10:27 AM

Post #9267050

Most sites list it as Determinate but there appears to be some confusion as not everyone does.
Carolyn
Salem, NY
(Zone 4b)

September 6, 2012
10:34 AM

Post #9267057

Despite my total lack of enthusiasm for most paste varieties as I've shared here several times, I can sugggest Martino's Roma as a darn good det variety. It has rugose foliage and the fruit production is so great that the det plants look a bit like small Xmas trees with red ornaments.

BER can affect ANY paste variety depending on the season b'c most of the variables that can induce BER, but not all, are weather related.