-
AuthorContent
marlinp55
Mount Enterprise, TX
(Zone 8a)

August 26, 2012
5:02 PM

Post #9254668

Just trying different things. I am new to using this product. Is there anything I need to know or change? It isn't like most I've seen so I thought maybe I might be doing something that would not work out in the long run.

Thanks for your input.

Marlin

Thumbnail by marlinp55   Thumbnail by marlinp55
Click an image for an enlarged view.

biddy52
BROOKFIELD
Australia

August 27, 2012
4:58 PM

Post #9256151

marlinp55 wrote:Just trying different things. I am new to using this product. Is there anything I need to know or change? It isn't like most I've seen so I thought maybe I might be doing something that would not work out in the long run.

Thanks for your input.

Marlin

Love the shape you managed to achieve - what is your recipe?
marlinp55
Mount Enterprise, TX
(Zone 8a)

August 29, 2012
4:02 PM

Post #9258624

Thanks, I've tried several recipes, but these two planters, if I remember correctly were made with

1 part portland
1 part pete
1 part vermiculite/perlite
and the larger one had a bit of color added.
I'm still kind of experimenting. The last ones I made I used 1 part sand in place of 1 part of vermiculite. They turned out pretty good just a bit heavier, so rather than 4 parts vermiculite for the batch I used 3 then added the 1 part sand.

Thanks again for your reply, If you have any suggestions please feel free.

Marlin
biddy52
BROOKFIELD
Australia

September 5, 2012
2:28 PM

Post #9266095

marlinp55 wrote:Thanks, I've tried several recipes, but these two planters, if I remember correctly were made with

1 part portland
1 part pete
1 part vermiculite/perlite
and the larger one had a bit of color added.
I'm still kind of experimenting. The last ones I made I used 1 part sand in place of 1 part of vermiculite. They turned out pretty good just a bit heavier, so rather than 4 parts vermiculite for the batch I used 3 then added the 1 part sand.