Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Pottery, Clay and Ceramics: Has anyone tried the Peter Pugger Studio Press

Communities > Forums > Pottery, Clay and Ceramics
bookmark
Forum: Pottery, Clay and CeramicsReplies: 4, Views: 29
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
FlatMatt
Sioux Falls, SD

August 28, 2012
8:21 AM

Post #9256824

Or does anyone know someone who has? I'm wondering how they compare with the Ram Press studio presses. They're a lot less expensive and push 5 tons less but all I'll be pressing is a pizza stone so no really fancy molds and I only need to press about 12 tons anyway. I'm also wondering if you've ever compared slab results from a press to those from a slab roller (assuming they were pugged first). How much more dense are those from a press? Thank you in advance for your help.
Matt

P.S. I am a complete newbie to anything ceramic and am only beginning to learn. I will be limited to pizza stones (maybe casserole dishes some day) and pressing clays like petalite, mullite, etc. along with a small amount of ball clay for plasticity and a mix (good plasticity in its own right) containing iron for a red finish (iron) made by my clay supplier.
imapigeon
Gilroy (Sunset Z14), CA
(Zone 9a)

August 28, 2012
10:59 AM

Post #9257055

Hi Matt:
I haven't tried their studio press, or anyone else's, but I have had a Peter Pugger pug mill for several years, and LOVE it. I use a North Star slab roller for tiles and slabs. I was very pleased with Peter Pugger's customer service and my pug mill just chugs along. The only part I've had to replace was a blown fuse.
Janet
mommacat11
Stafford, VA
(Zone 7a)

August 28, 2012
1:32 PM

Post #9257260

I wish! :-)

deb
ItsMeChrissy
Union Grove, WI
(Zone 5b)

August 28, 2012
2:13 PM

Post #9257344