-
AuthorContent
cschx
Ann Arbor, MI
(Zone 5a)

September 6, 2012
8:32 AM

Post #9266898

Hello Passiflora gurus. I'm new to growing these plants (and to Dave's Garden) and I was hoping someone could give me advice on a problem I'm having with my Maypops (Passiflora incarnata).

By all accounts these things are supposed to grow like weeds, and I am growing them only a little bit north of their native habitat, so I'm puzzled by their sulky behavior after planting them out as transplants. I started them from seed last spring, growing them in small pots up to about a foot, at which point they were growing quite vigorously. I then transplanted them to larger containers and they stopped growing completely. They have been sitting there sulking for over a month now and showing no new growth at all despite decent weather. The leaves are now exhibiting what I take to be signs of nutrient deficiency (see first two photos) - when I planted them out they were bright green. The tendrils have all curled up into tight little balls and refuse to open (third photo). I dug up the roots a little and they appear healthy.

The potting mix is a fairly rich 50/50 ProMix/forest compost amended with an all-purpose organic fertilizer (Espoma Plant Tone). The container is a milk crate lined with burlap, so it drains pretty well but the soil does stay very moist. I haven't done any additional fertilizing beyond a dose of chelated iron in an effort to combat what I initially took to be signs of chlorosis this has had no visible effect.

I'm very puzzled by these plants' behavior and would be grateful for any insight you could provide.

Thumbnail by cschx   Thumbnail by cschx   Thumbnail by cschx
Click an image for an enlarged view.

TrumpetFlowerz

TrumpetFlowerz
Ft Myers, FL
(Zone 10a)

January 16, 2013
2:17 AM

Post #9386757

I grow this passiflora quite a bit, as it is the favorite of gulf fritillary and zebra longwing butterflies where I live. They love the nectar