Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Vegetables: 'California Wonder' Bell Peppers

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 57, Views: 438
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lindaboom
New Harmony, UT
(Zone 5b)

September 7, 2012
12:30 PM

Post #9268126

It's my first time growing 'california wonder' bell peppers (in fact, any bell pepper)
and so far all of the peppers that I've harvested seem smaller than what the description
says (i.e. 4" x 4"). Does removing the number of flower buds help in growing larger
individual peppers?

Thanks,
Linda
Farmerdill
Augusta, GA
(Zone 8a)

September 7, 2012
12:47 PM

Post #9268149

Have not found it to be so. Also never had a California Wonder to grow to 4 x 4 size. Nice peppers but not overly large.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill   Thumbnail by Farmerdill         
Click an image for an enlarged view.

Gymgirl

Gymgirl
SE Houston (Hobby), TX
(Zone 9a)

September 7, 2012
1:02 PM

Post #9268173

When ya'll figure out which variety gives you LARGE bell peppers, please post it here!

I've been trying for 3 seasons now, to get a decent sized bell pepper, and no go. Even the size Farmerdill is holding would be nice!

I'll watch this thread.

Linda

Thumbnail by Gymgirl
Click the image for an enlarged view.

BCH521
Homeworth, OH
(Zone 5b)

September 7, 2012
1:22 PM

Post #9268205

I have had the same experience w/ california Wonder. The size in this photo is as good as it gets.

Thumbnail by BCH521

BCH521
Homeworth, OH
(Zone 5b)

September 7, 2012
1:29 PM

Post #9268216

Gymgirl wrote:When ya'll figure out which variety gives you LARGE bell peppers, please post it here!