Calling all "judges" for the annual DG County Fair! Vote for your favorites here!

'California Wonder' Bell Peppers

New Harmony, UT(Zone 5b)

It's my first time growing 'california wonder' bell peppers (in fact, any bell pepper)
and so far all of the peppers that I've harvested seem smaller than what the description
says (i.e. 4" x 4"). Does removing the number of flower buds help in growing larger
individual peppers?

Thanks,
Linda

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Have not found it to be so. Also never had a California Wonder to grow to 4 x 4 size. Nice peppers but not overly large.

Thumbnail by Farmerdill Thumbnail by Farmerdill
SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

When ya'll figure out which variety gives you LARGE bell peppers, please post it here!

I've been trying for 3 seasons now, to get a decent sized bell pepper, and no go. Even the size Farmerdill is holding would be nice!

I'll watch this thread.

Linda

Thumbnail by Gymgirl
Homeworth, OH(Zone 5b)

I have had the same experience w/ california Wonder. The size in this photo is as good as it gets.

Thumbnail by BCH521
Homeworth, OH(Zone 5b)

Quote from Gymgirl :
When ya'll figure out which variety gives you LARGE bell peppers, please post it here!

I've been trying for 3 seasons now, to get a decent sized bell pepper, and no go. Even the size Farmerdill is holding would be nice!

I'll watch this thread.

Linda

Linda, I've been growing a pepper i got from Baker Creek called "yellow Monster" for a while, and have had good luck with the size. They're not quite as tasty as Cal. Wonder but they're really good stuffed!

Bruce

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

The two largest that I have grown are Big Bertha http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/63614/ and Super Heaviweight. http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/82744/ They don't set as many fruit but they are big.

Richland, WA(Zone 7b)