Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Tomatoes: Superfantastic neither super nor fantastic for me.

Communities > Forums > Tomatoes
bookmark
Forum: TomatoesReplies: 8, Views: 69
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

newyorkrita

newyorkrita
North Shore of L. I., NY
(Zone 6b)

September 9, 2012
1:40 PM

Post #9270001

Man is this tomato misnamed. There is nothing super about it and it is certainly not fantastic. This is my first year trying this variety and certainly my last as it is never coming back. Well, to be fair, it fought off the early blight fairly well and produced lots of fruit. But many would get rotten spots long before they were ripe enought to pick. So I figgure those don't really count though as they had to be thrown out. When I did get eatable fruit, it just has no flavor. Just pucked again today, had to toss nearly half because of the rotting and the rest that I picked was cracking heavily at the stem part. To be fair, we have had a lot of rain.

Thumbnail by newyorkrita
Click the image for an enlarged view.

newyorkrita

newyorkrita
North Shore of L. I., NY
(Zone 6b)

September 9, 2012
1:42 PM

Post #9270002

Here is a picture of the stem type cracking. This was not happening earlier in the year and is not happening on my other tomatoes.

Thumbnail by newyorkrita
Click the image for an enlarged view.

LooneyLinda
Mantua, UT
(Zone 4b)

September 26, 2012
6:52 AM

Post #9286707

I have liked Super Fantastic other years, but it has not done well for me this year. I have had poor production and bland flavor. I might try one plant next year, but that's all.
JoParrott
Richland, WA
(Zone 7b)

September 26, 2012
7:39 AM

Post #9286741