-
AuthorContent
pookysnooky29
devon
United Kingdom

September 18, 2012
6:10 AM

Post #9278637

Hello, here are my Soap wort plants which I grew from seed at the begining of the year, in the UK . Are they perennials? Will they survive the winter? Do I cut them back before the frost just like i do with my primroses? Need to know lots as I'm still learning. Thank you for looking

Thumbnail by pookysnooky29
Click the image for an enlarged view.

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)

October 24, 2012
7:21 PM

Post #9314579

If you are talking about Saponaria ocymoides, yes it is a hardy perennial. Your plant don't match the name. Saponaria ocymoides is a creeper with pink flowers and smooth heartshaped leaves. Your plant look like it grows upright.

I cut back all my perennials in the fall maily because I don't have time in the spring. This also gets rid of bug eggs that may be attached to hatch in the spring. It also looks neater and makes raking leaves easier.
podster
Deep East Texas, TX
(Zone 8a)

October 24, 2012
7:49 PM

Post #9314596

Are you intending to move the container indoors for winter? The reason I ask is these will be more hardy when planted in ground. Their roots will be more susceptible to freezing in a container.

I don't know your temperature lows but the Saponaria ocymoices spolendens (soapwort) is hardy for temps to -10F below 0F.

Yes, they will be perennial. Mine are in ground and I never cut them back. They tend to sprawl and spread out.

Blomma ~ I think the reason this plant doesn't resemble the Saponaria plant is it has been nurtured in good soil with good moisture. A soapwort plant, in ground and grown hard will look differently but yes, I do believe that is a correct ID.

I am impressed that these are grown from seed. Most folks will start with cuttings or plants which are dug up which is far less of a challenge.

This is a link to the DG PlantFiles on these plants including photos if interested.

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)