Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Fuchsias: Fuchsia Gall Mite

Communities > Forums > Fuchsias
bookmark
Forum: FuchsiasReplies: 7, Views: 28
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lizzipa
Emerald Hills, CA
(Zone 9b)

September 21, 2012
12:35 PM

Post #9282295

Hi,

I've been growing upright fuchsia's for about 3 years, and last summer one of them started having gall mite issues. After using Sevin (probably not as frequently as I should have) & cutting the fuchsia down to a nub, I started using Bayer products this year. The granules did nothing, but the liquid Bayer 2 in 1 seemed to keep things in check this summer. However, this week, I notice the gall mites have attacked with a vengance. Instead of one plant being affected, I now have 4 with substantial gall mite issues. I bought the Bayer Tree & Shrub 12 month & planned to try that next.

However, I'm now wondering if 1) I'm fighting a losing battle and 2) if location has a lot to do with the success or failure of controlling this pest. A dozen fucshia's are all in one area & they're succumbing quickly; however, a Netalla, which is about 20 feet away has never had any problems (knock on wood).

I have quite a few hummingbirds, which I love, and lots of bees (my across the street neighbor has hives), and I hate to use pesticides which could compromise the bees & other beneficial insects.

I know the hummingbirds spread the gall mite & wonder if having many fuchsia's in the same place makes it easier for the hummers to spread the pest. If segregating the fucshias may be helpful, I'll do so... Otherwise, I will probably pare down my collection to just a few, because I just don't have the time or desire to constantly fight these critters & use more & more strong pesticides.

I'd appreciate any feedback that people may have.

Many thanks,

Liz
rebeccanne
Gold Beach, OR
(Zone 9a)