Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Article: Garden Myths Busted: Organic, USDA Hardiness Map, and Plant Quality vs. Cost: USDA Hardiness Map

Communities > Forums > Article: Garden Myths Busted: Organic, USDA Hardiness Map, and Plant Quality vs. Cost
bookmark
Forum: Article: Garden Myths Busted: Organic, USDA Hardiness Map, and Plant Quality vs. CostReplies: 3, Views: 48
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
dshoemaker
New Port Richey, FL
(Zone 9b)

October 1, 2012
6:09 AM

Post #9291875

I have really appreciated the articles on gardening myths, thank you. I'm a novice gardener, but learning with each season. I'm also suspicious of "standardized" guidelines so have had some success and failure trying plants that were not rated for my zone (9b). I've found that some plants that are full sun in zone 8 can grow in filtered shade in my area. Also, I've found that some grow well in different seasons. I'm on the Florida suncoast and there is virtually no time of the year when I can't grow something. Thank you again for taking the time to explain these myths.
snowlion
Saint Paul, MN
(Zone 4b)

October 1, 2012
6:28 AM

Post #9291896

The thing about the USDA map is that it only looks at temperature. It's at best a measured average. Plant survival in winter depends on a lot more than temperature. In my zone (4) lack of snow cover can kill plants that technically are zone hardy -- the freeze-thaw cycle does them in.

I have much better luck when I research a plant's native habitat, and make my purchase decision based on whether I can provide a reasonable approximation of that. For instance "zone 4" plants native to mountainous regions often die quickly here because the seasonal extreme is too stressful.
mesico
Kewaskum, WI

October 1, 2012
7:07 PM

Post #9292996