Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Flowers: Growing Marguerite Daisy from Seed

Communities > Forums > Beginner Flowers
bookmark
Forum: Beginner FlowersReplies: 11, Views: 121
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
MonkeyFlower
Sliema
Malta

October 3, 2012
11:44 PM

Post #9295389

I am a complete beginner gardener. On 22 September I planted some daisy seeds in a container and covered with plastic wrap. Tiny green leaves sprouted after a few days, so I removed the plastic. However, nothing else has grown since. I have read that "true leaves" now need to grow - which would be the second set of leaves. How long does this usually take? The weather here is still very warm, so I have placed the container where it receives a few hours of direct sun, and a few hours of shade. Thank you.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

October 6, 2012
6:53 PM

Post #9297885

It is hard to gauge how long as it all depends on temp, soil conditions, watering, and ofcource the seeds them-self, IF fresh seeds or old seeds.
I don't know what zone you are in so can only give general times.

I would say about 2-3 weeks from seeds being sewn, to germination and then onto to the stage they are, as you describe them.
At this stage you keep watering them WHEN required, I like to water seeds in containers from under the pots as this helps prevent things like (damping off fungus) this causes the little seedlings to die off, and it looks like a greyish mould that suddenly appears over a few hours and it causes the seedlings to fall over and Mould spreads to all the seedlings if not treated. This mould is caused by too wet soil, seeds growing far too close (over crowding) and cold conditions.