Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Florida Gardening: ID Please

Communities > Forums > Florida Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Florida GardeningReplies: 5, Views: 102
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
floridagardner
Palm Coast, FL
(Zone 9a)

October 12, 2012
5:01 PM

Post #9303478

Can someone please tell me what this plant is. I've been left to care for it while friends are on vacation. As you can guess, I'm terrified that something will happen to it while in my care. I've no knowledge of this plant or what it is. Help!!!! Thanks.

Thumbnail by floridagardner
Click the image for an enlarged view.

gardenglory
Gainesville, FL
(Zone 9a)

October 12, 2012
5:50 PM

Post #9303512

Thats an angel wing begonia. Its crying for a bigger pot and a trim, otherwise its healthy and I dont think you are going to hurt it. I would say dont overwater, but with it being that pot bound it wont hold the water anyway. They like some shade.
floridagardner
Palm Coast, FL
(Zone 9a)

October 13, 2012
4:51 PM

Post #9304218

Thanks Gardenglory. Really appreciate the advise. When you say a trim... should I cut off the leggy growth. I have a larger pot to put it in. Or, would you suggest I just leave it alone until the friends return. They will be gone for about 6 months. What you think???
gardenglory
Gainesville, FL
(Zone 9a)

October 13, 2012
5:22 PM

Post #9304238

6 months, take it out. This is a perfect time of the year too. They root really easy , so just put the stems you cut off in water, in no time you will have many plants to pot. You might find it doest need repotting after cutting back, just pull it up a bit and you can see if its root bound.
floridagardner
Palm Coast, FL
(Zone 9a)

October 14, 2012
3:37 PM

Post #9305057