-
AuthorContent
sempervirens
Northern, NJ
(Zone 6b)

October 13, 2012
1:04 AM

Post #9303706

I was shopping at the local supermarket when I saw a wide variety of beautiful succulents all potted in single pots without drainage holes.
Is it a poor idea to purchase these plants potted up this way?
Would a north east window provide too little light? In the summer they could be moved to the sunporch with more light but it gets down to 40 degrees in the winter.
I have a shelf I could clear for a small collection in northeast light, all areas with southwest light have a heating unit directly underneath except
the bathroom which would have more humidity.
As a novice I would like to hear your expert opinion on whether to proceed with this purchase or to choose other plants for my growing conditions.
luciee
Hanceville, AL
(Zone 7a)

October 13, 2012
11:04 AM

Post #9303994

If the price is right and you like them, go for it. You can always do what you desire to them when you get them home. Maybe you can find something else to go with them that would fit your environmental conditions. Luciee {;^)

Baja_Costero

Baja_Costero
Baja California
Mexico
(Zone 11)

October 13, 2012
12:07 PM

Post #9304027

If the plants are healthy, get them out of the pots without holes right away and there should be no problem. I have some succulents in a NE window and they do okay with the morning sun they get, mostly in the summer months because of obstructions outside. Moving the succulents to the porch in the summer is probably a good idea, it gives you some leeway for lower light during the rest of the year. A heater below the windows is going to affect how fast they dry out, mainly, and you'll have to keep an eye on that until you get a good idea of how it works.
Cassandra78
Bryan, TX
(Zone 8b)

October 13, 2012
7:02 PM

Post #9304337

If the price is right I'd get them! I recently hit the clearance section of my local nursery and I had my husband drill hole where there were none :)

~Cass