Newbie here

Burleson, TX(Zone 8a)

Hello All,

My first time to post here. I hang around Texas Gardening. I'm so excited about my new gift horse, Fancy. She's made my pasture a whole lot prettier.

Thumbnail by sybram
Richmond, TX

Welcome sybram! That is one flashy girl - tell us more!

Burleson, TX(Zone 8a)

Well, she's a10 yo, 14 hh Tobiano Paint Tennessee Walking Horse. I've just had her a week, and wouldn't you know, everything has happened to keep me from spending much time with her. The lady who gave her to me said she was very well trained when they got her, so we'll see. I know she hasn't been ridden in at least 1 year, probably 2. So far, I think she "knew" everything I've asked of her. Every time I try something, she's so "DUH," but gets it too quickly for it to be a new experience for her. I'd like to think I'm just that good a trainer, but hahaha, no way. Her previous owner rode her in a shank bit. I only use full-cheek snaffles on my horses. I'm sure she'll take to it ok, since most horses are started in snaffle bits. I haven't ridden her yet. Had one hour of daylight left yesterday, and was teaching her to stand at my feed/tack house ramp for saddling when my DH needed my help for "2 minutes." At dark-thirty I went out and turned her loose, and went back to help my husband. Not complaining--we had three leaky toilets, and he was................well, no need to gross everybody out. Just know this--my guy's the best!

South Hamilton, MA

Hope that she does well for you.

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

She looks like she's grinning in the picture. lol. She looks great and I can't wait to hear about your adventures with her!

Burleson, TX(Zone 8a)

Thanks, Iris and Pepper. I rode her yesterday for the first time, just getting her use to the snaffle. Mainly just doing ground work with her.