Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Insect and Spider Identification: SOLVED: Butterfly ID Please

Communities > Forums > Insect and Spider Identification
bookmark
Forum: Insect and Spider IdentificationReplies: 9, Views: 65
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

nanny_56

nanny_56
Putnam County, IN
(Zone 5b)

December 17, 2012
12:50 PM

Post #9360801

I never labeled this photo from 2010.

Thumbnail by nanny_56
Click the image for an enlarged view.

C_A_Ivy
Barling, AR
(Zone 7b)

December 31, 2012
2:02 PM

Post #9371582

I'm a butterfly novice, 6 mon experience, so for what it is worth this is my opinion. This is not an Indiana butterfly but a warm climate specimen. It is a Junonia evarete-tropical buckeye. A beauty and absolutely gorgeous with topside view of wings open.

vitrsna

vitrsna
Colima
Mexico
(Zone 11)

December 31, 2012
4:26 PM

Post #9371720

Where was the photo taken nanny and is it on a palm?

nanny_56

nanny_56
Putnam County, IN
(Zone 5b)

January 1, 2013
8:37 AM

Post #9372236

It was taken here in my front yard here in Indiana. It is on a lily stalk

vitrsna

vitrsna
Colima
Mexico
(Zone 11)

January 1, 2013
9:12 AM

Post #9372267

Shorthog, i think you are doing really well...i've been at this for 5 years and am still a novice.

Nanny and Shorthog...this looks like a Junonia evarete, but i don't know. It is a neotropical butterfly that is normally found in Florida and the Caribbean, possibly south Texas, Mexico, Central America, and subtropical and tropical South America...so i don't know what it is doing in Indiana. I will send a D-Mail to lepfarmer to see what he has to say about this one.
C_A_Ivy
Barling, AR
(Zone 7b)

January 1, 2013
10:27 AM

Post #9372325